Securities Commission

The Division of Securities is advised by an independent commission comprised of five Utah citizens. Each member is appointed by the governor and serves a four year term. Two members must come from the securities brokerage community, one member must be a member of the securities section of the Utah State Bar, one member must come from a corporation which is not a reporting company, and one member must come from the public at large who has no active participation in the securities business. Section 61-1-18.5 is the statutory authority for the Securities Commission. The following persons are members of the Securities Commission:

Lyndon L. Ricks

Corporate Officer

Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
170 South Main Street, Suite 1000
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

Lyle White


Fidelity Investments
3055 South 1800 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84106

Mark Zimbelman


Brigham Young University
514 Tanner Building
Provo, UT 84602

Dawn Dachenhausen


Retirement Strategy Group  6695 South 1300 East Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121

2023 Commission Meetings

The Securities Commission meets at least quarterly or as needed to conduct business. The scheduled meetings in 2023 are:

The scheduled meetings in 2024 are:

  • January 11-12, 2024
  • March 28-29, 2024 
  • May 16-17, 2024 
  • August 8-9, 2024
  • October 10-11, 2024


Past Commission Meetings